i will BE organized

The Journey to Organization. . the Road to a wannabe Cleanie

Organizing Finances March 24, 2009

Filed under: finance — mikailani @ 2:42 am

I guess I’m one of the plenty that had no clue what I got into when I lived on my own. My mom never taught me anything about managing money – so I had to figure everything out on my own. I don’t blame here in times of money crunching, but it would have helped if I had a clue on how to budget and organize finances.

Me & my Husband (Married 2 weeks =D) have had plenty of close calls – but we eventually floated back to the top. I had a really big eye opening experience recently which made me committed to organizing our finances.

Starting off, all our bills were scattered everywhere and I had no fixed method or plan for paying bills – I know. . . YIKES! So for the next few weeks, here’s a list of what we’re working on

:: Signed up for http://www.mint.com to track our expenses – I really find this site neat and visually appealing. I love how we’re able to see our BAD BAD spending trend.

:: Set up a faux budget that we need to stick to. – I try to give each dollar a job – It really helps to know that I shouldn’t be spending on things that are not budgeted. And if they’re not, then we gotta re-think our financial plan.

:: Use http://www.ynab.com to budget and reconcile finances

:: Delegate a place for all bills and receipts

:: Save and file away important tax documentation.

:: Make a snow ball plan for our debt.
That’s all for now. Crossing fingers – I hope this works!

 

Leave a Reply

